Women In Engineering Session

A high-caliber panel session will be held on October 23, at 5:00 pm – 7:30pm in EPEC 2017. The theme of talk will be on “Drive Creativity and Innovation in Engineering: Bring Diversity & Inclusion Into Action”. Speakers from different disciplines, academia, industry, and government will share their opinions and experiences. The event will be open to general public, and conference attendees as well as professionals and students in Saskatoon are recommended to attend.

Registration to the event is required via the following link:


WIE Panel at 2017 IEEE Electrical Power and Energy Conference


Dr. Maike Luiken
IEEE Canada President-Elect

Dr. Maike Luiken is the IEEE Canada President-Elect 2016-2017 and will serve as the IEEE Canada President 2018-2019. She was the past founding director of the Bluewater Technology Access Centre (BTAC) (2013) following eight years as Dean at Lambton College, first as Dean, School of Technology, Applied Sciences and Apprenticeship, Fire School, Applied Research (2005), then as Dean of Applied Research and Innovation, Business Development and Sustainable Development (2007). Prior to her engagement at Lambton College, she was Vice-President Research Alliances at the National Capital Institute of Telecommunications (NCIT) in Ottawa.

Maike obtained her Staatsexamen in Mathematics and Physics from the Technical University Carolo-Wilhelmina in Braunschweig, Germany (1979) and her Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Waterloo (1982). She spent a year at the University of Manitoba studying for a Master’s in Electrical Engineering.
Maike is currently serving/has been serving on numerous Boards of Directors and Committees, including Nano Ontario, Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association (CHFCA), IEEE Canada, IEEE Canadian Foundation, Sarnia/Lambton Workforce Development Board; Bluewater Sustainability Initiative, Rotary Club of Sarnia; Southwestern Ontario Bio-Products Innovation Network (SOBIN), Sarnia/Lambton Chamber of Commerce, Unmanned Systems Canada, Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE) Advanced Manufacturing Sector Advisory Board.

She contributes frequently to the IEEE Canadian Review as Associate Editor and Editorial Focus Advisor, Technology.

In addition to her academic career and volunteer activities Maike owns a technology consulting practice and has been engaged in the private sector for 15 years. Maike is a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada and a Senior Member of IEEE.


Mike Marsh
SaskPower President and Chief Executive Officer

Mike Marsh was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer in April 2015. He joined SaskPower in 1991, following 12 years in the construction industry in Alberta and Saskatchewan.

At SaskPower, Mr. Marsh began his career at Boundary Dam Power Station in engineering and maintenance. He went on to various positions in the company, notably as Manager of Business and Financial Planning and Vice-President of Transmission and Distribution. In 2012, he became Vice-President of Operations and Chief Operations Officer, responsible for all operational areas including Power Production, Transmission Services and Distribution Services.

Mr. Marsh attended the University of Saskatchewan, where he earned a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering. He later studied at Queen’s School of Business and obtained a Master of Business Administration. He is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan (APEGS).

He is a Board member of the Canadian Electricity Association (CEA), and is Past Chair of the CEA Transmission Council. He has also held positions on the CEA Distribution Council and Occupational Health and Safety Task Group.

Mr. Marsh is a Past President of Canadian Progress Club – Regina Centre Chapter. This service organization offers financial assistance to charities supporting children and wellness.


Margaret Anne Hodges
Chair of APEGS 30 by 30 Task Group, APEGS President 2015-2016
P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon), PMP

Growing up, Margaret Anne wanted to be a lawyer, geologist, and actress all rolled into one. It wasn’t until she was laying out the design for some interlocking patio blocks, the summer between her last two years of high school, that she decided to follow in her father’s footsteps and pursue engineering. Now Margaret Anne is celebrating her 29th anniversary with SaskTel, where she started in 1988 after graduating with a B.A.Sc. in Electronic Systems Engineering from the University of Regina.

Margaret Anne began volunteering with APEGS in 1991, and was an original member of the Women in Engineering committee, focused on attracting women to the profession, engaging girls while still in school, and professional networking. She served on APEGS Council for 7 years as the Group 3 Electrical and Engineering Physics Council representative, and then Executive Committee and President of APEGS in 2015-16. Margaret Anne currently Chairs APEGS 30 by 30 Task Group.

Margaret Anne and her family support the arts in Regina through patronage, membership and volunteer work. Regina Lyric Musical Theatre named her a life member nine years ago for her work on the executive. While performing with Lyric she reflects that one out of three ain’t bad—and, of course, she gets to hang out with geologists.


Hon. Bronwyn Eyre
Minister Responsible for the Status of Women and Minister of Education – Saskatchewan

Bronwyn Eyre was elected MLA for Saskatoon Stonebridge-Dakota in the 2016 provincial election.

A former radio broadcaster and columnist, Bronwyn also served as a Saskatoon public school board trustee. Previously, she was a senior writer/editor for UK-based legal publications Commercial Lawyer and European Lawyer. She attended McGill University and the University of Saskatchewan (BA’93, LL.B.’96) and speaks French, German, and Italian.

Bronwyn is currently the Minister of Education and Minister responsible for the Status of Women. She previously served as Minister of Advanced Education.

Major Sponsors